November is Native American Heritage Month!

November is Native American Heritage Month! Did you know that there are 29 federally recognized tribes throughout Washington and they are: Chehalis, Colville, Cowlitz, Hoh, Jamestown S’Klallam, Kalispel, Lower Elwha Klallam, Lummi, Makah, Muckleshoot, Nisqually, Nooksack, Port Gamble S’Klallam, Puyallup, Quileute, Quinault, Samish, Sauk-Suiattle, Shoalwater Bay, Skokomish, Snoqualmie, Spokane, Squaxin Island, Stillaguamish, Suquamish, Swinomish, Tulalip, Upper Skagit, and Yakama. In addition, there are three tribes: the Duwamish, Wanapum, and Chinook, not recognized by the United States government but with a long history in present-day Washington state. In fact, it is Duwamish lands that currently make up much of metropolitan Seattle.

For more information and to learn all about Native American Heritage in Washington state, please visit